Debug starts only once

Discuss how to use the features of Atollic TrueSTUDIO, including the editor, assembler, C/C++ compiler, linker, debugger, static code analysis and team collaboration tools.

Moderators: Markus Girdland, Mattias Norlander

robert-b
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:06 am

Re: Debug starts only once

Postby robert-b » Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:50 pm

i switched over to ac6.
less problems and a faster debugger which is more fun.
stepping over functions is really quick.
and yes, the same project.

Lawrence
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 5:13 pm

Re: Debug starts only once

Postby Lawrence » Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:19 pm

How long of a subroutine? What is your computer? What OS?

Its a bit of a random thing, last I checked on the ac6 forums it was filled with complaints.

If you search "atollic" on those forums, sometimes people say the opposite of what you say.

But that was a more than 1 year ago.

If free ac6 works better than free atollic yet both use eclipse then atollic should reverse engineer ac6 components and bring some goodies over from the ac6 side.

That being said, Atollic is one of 3 standard professionnal tools, ac6 is free tool, most people use segger when they have atollic professionnal.

If you wanna compare atollic, here is what you should compare with.

http://redacom.ch/wp-content/uploads/We ... ercial.pdf

With segger, I have not seen problems, FYI.

robert-b
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:06 am

Re: Debug starts only once

Postby robert-b » Thu Jan 26, 2017 6:51 pm

the subroutine is pretty long and does all the initialisation of my quadcopter.
with ac6 i have a pretty good dedug experience.
yes, some time ago ac6 was a pain when it comes to debugging.
frequent updates did solve my problem.

Mattias Norlander
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 10:01 am

Re: Debug starts only once

Postby Mattias Norlander » Tue Feb 07, 2017 7:01 am

We have reports of people who experience these ST-Link problems in TS v.7.0.1. These guys have tested all the approaches in this thread without success. Switching to TS v.7.1.0 solved the problem.

Lawrence
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 5:13 pm

Re: Debug starts only once

Postby Lawrence » Wed Feb 08, 2017 12:51 am

Sounds awesome, sounds very sexy.

robert-b
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:06 am

Re: Debug starts only once

Postby robert-b » Mon Feb 13, 2017 5:53 pm

ts 7.1.0 works much better as those ts versions before.
importing ac6 projects is not done automagically using the project importer and
a specific ac6 import tool is missing.
at least found i nothing ...

Mattias Norlander
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 10:01 am

Re: Debug starts only once

Postby Mattias Norlander » Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:47 am

robert-b wrote:ts 7.1.0 works much better as those ts versions before.


Happy to hear!

robert-b wrote:importing ac6 projects is not done automagically using the project importer and
a specific ac6 import tool is missing.
at least found i nothing ...


Check this out:
The project importer is included in TrueSTUDIO starting with v7.1. You access it from the File, Open Projects from File System... menu command (you can download TrueSTUDIO here).

Source of information:
http://blog.atollic.com/migrate-stm32-p ... mworkbench

Sabelo
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 10:42 am

Re: Debug starts only once

Postby Sabelo » Mon May 20, 2019 6:31 am

Hi, am new to atollic, and I was trying to debug the freertos, using a youtube video, as a tutorial, but the problem is mine is not working, it gives me some errors such as the following: ..\Drivers\CMSIS\NN\Source\SoftmaxFunctions\arm_softmax_q15.c:32:29: fatal error: arm_nnfunctions.h: No such file or directory

Can anyone please help me what can I do for it to work?

souvik.kundu
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2019 3:01 pm

Re: Debug starts only once

Postby souvik.kundu » Wed Jul 31, 2019 3:14 pm

Hi!
I faced the same problem today. Got stuck for hours then figured out the solution.
The problem is not with the st-link or the board. Due to some reason the code is not reaching to the ST-Link from computer, most probably the problem is with the Atollic.
So, this is what I have done:
1. Build the code and generate the hex file(you will not have problem building the code, the problem lies only when start the debug session).
2. Now open STM32 ST-Link Utility, connect it (hopefully you will not find problem here, if you get try changing target setting etc.)
3. Dump the hex file from STM32 ST-Link Utility ( print via swv option)
4. This will work to dump the code to the board not debugging (you will get it if LED blinking is in yr code or any other features)
5. Now disconnect the ST-Link
6. Go to Atollic again and build it and debug it.

It works for me. Hope that it works for you too.

Thank you,
Souvik Kundu

moschiel
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2019 5:50 pm

Re: Debug starts only once

Postby moschiel » Thu Aug 22, 2019 5:52 pm

Mattias Norlander wrote:Could you try cleaning out all breakpoints?
The first approach when debugger fails to start is always to remove all breakpoints. Do this in breakpoints view, select and delete all.
Does that help?


Now it is working, thank you very much.


Return to “Atollic TrueSTUDIO tool discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests