Problem import project from IAR to Atollic

Discussions concerning TrueSTUDIO for STM32 9.0.0 and later versions.

Moderators: Markus Girdland, Mattias Norlander

barbar
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:14 pm

Problem import project from IAR to Atollic

Postby barbar » Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:05 am

I try to import this project CC2564CSTBTBLESW build for the STM32F4 with IAR .
I follow the article about move from IAR to Atollic here
http://blog.atollic.com/import-iar-ewar ... f4d5f139d6
I take the startup file startup_stm32f4xx.s from Atollic project same chip, and the linker file stm32f4_flash.id from Atollic project place in the project level.
I try to build but get lot of errors look like this:Description Resource Path Location Type
error: TrueSTUDIO.elf uses VFP register arguments, ..\..\..\..\..\..\Bluetopia\lib\ewarm\Bluetopia.a(HCIDrv.o) does not TrueSTUDIO C/C++ Problem
error: TrueSTUDIO.elf uses VFP register arguments, ..\..\..\..\..\..\Bluetopia\lib\ewarm\Bluetopia.a(HCILL.o) does not TrueSTUDIO C/C++ Problem
So I was thinking it is because it is look on the ewarm of the IAR. SO I change it to look on Bluetopia\lib\gcc\libBluetopia_32_M4.a but get the same errors here:
Description Resource Path Location Type
error: TrueSTUDIO.elf uses VFP register arguments, ..\..\..\..\..\..\Bluetopia\lib\gcc\libBluetopia_32_M4.a(HCIDrv.o) does not TrueSTUDIO C/C++ Problem
error: TrueSTUDIO.elf uses VFP register arguments, ..\..\..\..\..\..\Bluetopia\lib\gcc\libBluetopia_32_M4.a(HCILL.o) does not TrueSTUDIO C/C++ Problem
ect.
Look like he can't fine the path to all of the Middle level of the BLE (GAP, HCI ect)
Any clue what I miss?
Regards
Bar.

Mattias Norlander
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 10:01 am

Re: Problem import project from IAR to Atollic

Postby Mattias Norlander » Fri Oct 12, 2018 8:58 am

So you are linking a library built in EWARM into you TS project?
It seems as if the library is built with different FPU settings in EWARM than what you have configured your TS project to use.
Try looking into this.
In TS you need to look in the build settings > Tool Settings
- Assembler > Target
- C Compiler > Target
- C Linker > Target

barbar
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:14 pm

Re: Problem import project from IAR to Atollic

Postby barbar » Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:48 am

I check the setting and I see in all 3 targets FPU = FPv4-SP-D16
What it mean and do I have to change it?
Bar.

Mattias Norlander
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 10:01 am

Re: Problem import project from IAR to Atollic

Postby Mattias Norlander » Fri Oct 19, 2018 11:00 am

Are you using FPU Software, Hardware or Mixed?
You must check which options the IAR library is built with and use the same.

barbar
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:14 pm

Re: Problem import project from IAR to Atollic

Postby barbar » Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:08 am

I have check in IAR and in Atollic doesn't use FPU.
But still when I try to debug I get this error
Error with command: gdb --version
Cannot run program "gdb": Launching failed

I look on the debugger setting in the main window there is GDB debugger: gdb
and GDB command file: .gdbinit
I was thinking maybe it is not point at the right place. But how can I set it? where are the files for gdb I need?

Mattias Norlander
Posts: 273
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 10:01 am

Re: Problem import project from IAR to Atollic

Postby Mattias Norlander » Tue Oct 30, 2018 1:05 pm

OK - I interpret this as that you were able to solve the FPU issue. Otherwise you would get build errors and not be able to even try to launch debug. Correct?
Hmmm, do you have an executable binary in the project? Which elf-file is the debugger trying to load and does it exist there?


Return to “TrueSTUDIO for STM32 discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 1 guest