TrueSTUDIO multi-project workspace

Discussions concerning TrueSTUDIO for STM32 9.0.0 and later versions.

Moderators: Markus Girdland, Mattias Norlander

NCTUser
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 2:22 pm

TrueSTUDIO multi-project workspace

Postby NCTUser » Sat Jan 19, 2019 4:46 pm

Hello,

I am working on an bootloader in TrueSTUDIO. The application and the
bootloader are different projects in a single workspace. While I used
this multi-project workspace I faced some inconvenience. I share it
because maybe it can help improve TS or there is a solution/workaround
to my problems which I did not notice.

1. The TrueSTUDIO IDE does not show which project is the active
project. Sometimes jumped between files I did not know which was
the active project (which project will be compiled, debugged, ect.
when I click the icons).

2. I use several build configurations (not just Debug/Release) and
the IDE does not show which build configuraton is active.

3. Same is true in case of debug configuration. (For example the Debug
icon's tooltip now shows something irrelevant information. When I point
to the Debug icon, it would show debug configuraton's name which will
launch.)

4. I can't exclude non-source files from build. I would like to use three
build configuraton (e.g. BOOTBUILD, STANDALONE, RAMBUILD) which
need three different linker command file. Each build configuration
contains one linker command file and the other two are excluded, but
I can't exclude the linker files. Is there any other way to assign linker
command files to build configurations?

5. The Problems window shows the errors and warnings from both
project. Is it possible to filter them to the active project?

I am switching form an another eclipse based IDE (Code Composer Studio)
where these problems are mostly solved. I appreciate any answer!

Thank you!

alister
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 3:18 am

Re: TrueSTUDIO multi-project workspace

Postby alister » Fri Jan 25, 2019 8:51 am

1. The TrueSTUDIO IDE does not show which project is the active
project. Sometimes jumped between files I did not know which was
the active project (which project will be compiled, debugged, ect.
when I click the icons).

You can close the project(s) you're not using. In the project explorer there are two ways (a) right-click the project you're not not using and select Close Project or (b) right-click the project you're using and select Close Unrelated Projects.

2. I use several build configurations (not just Debug/Release) and
the IDE does not show which build configuraton is active.

Agree.

3. Same is true in case of debug configuration. (For example the Debug
icon's tooltip now shows something irrelevant information. When I point
to the Debug icon, it would show debug configuraton's name which will
launch.)

A debug configuration's default name is the name of the project suffixed with the name of the active build configuration. If you edit a configuration in Run --> Debug Configurations..., leave these details intact as they'll help you find the one you want if you need to browse them in Debug Configurations.
Only the debug configurations of open projects are displayed in the list of available debug configurations.
The Debug icon launches the last used debug configuration of the selected project and build configuration.
If you're unsure, go to Debug Configurations where you can select any debug configuration and click Debug to launch it.

4. I can't exclude non-source files from build. I would like to use three
build configuraton (e.g. BOOTBUILD, STANDALONE, RAMBUILD) which
need three different linker command file. Each build configuration
contains one linker command file and the other two are excluded, but
I can't exclude the linker files. Is there any other way to assign linker
command files to build configurations?

In the project explorer, right-click the source file and select Resource Configurations --> Exclude from Build... In the next window, select the build configurations you want it excluded.

5. The Problems window shows the errors and warnings from both
project. Is it possible to filter them to the active project?

This is fixed by closing the projects you're not working on.

NCTUser
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 2:22 pm

Re: TrueSTUDIO multi-project workspace

Postby NCTUser » Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:27 am

Dear Alister,

your suggestion to close the unused project is almost
perfect!

In CCS the Project Explorer shows the active project's
name written with bold font, and the active configuration's
name is added to the end of projects name in square
brackets. Very simple solution but I always know where
I am.

In TrueSTUDIO sometimes I edited file form the wrong
project (the bootloader project was derived form the
application project and the two projects contain more
than one file with the same name).

Thank you to take a trouble to answer me!

Best regards,
NCTuser


Return to “TrueSTUDIO for STM32 discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest