SWV operation in TS 7.1.0

Discuss how to use the features of Atollic TrueSTUDIO, including the editor, assembler, C/C++ compiler, linker, debugger, static code analysis and team collaboration tools.

Moderators: Markus Girdland, Mattias Norlander

john.saunders

SWV operation in TS 7.1.0

Postby john.saunders » Thu Feb 09, 2017 6:01 am

I am doing an evaluation of TS and trying out the debug capabilities. I have got basic break/step/run working with an ST-Link V2 and SEGGER J-Link.

We mainly have a ST-Link probes with a few J-Links used by other projects not using STM32 micros (which I borrowed for testing).

I have got to the point of trying out the SWV features by following the Atollic white paper, however I get nothing. I must admit I am new to SWV so may not be using the feature correctly.

Micro is an STM32F405ZG with external 8MHz xtal, PLL_M=8, PLL_N=336 and PLL_P=2 which I believe gives me a 168MHz core clock. When I enter 168 as the core clock I get a SWO speed of 2000kHz (2MHz) automatically. I have tried enabling PC Sampling (16384 c/s), EXC, LSU, EXETRC and Comparator 0 set to an address that I know gets an ADC sample periodically written to by DMA. I pressed the red button (BTW I think would be better if it changed to green rather than just getting a square border) and ran the target. I get no entries in any SWV trace view I have opened.

Can anyone help? Or what is a sure-fire way to set it up so I can at least see some sign of life.

Thanks.

Otatiaro

Re: SWV operation in TS 7.1.0

Postby Otatiaro » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:35 am

Hello,

What board are you using, is SWO connected to the probe?

Thomas.

john.saunders

Postby john.saunders » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:59 pm

Sorry false alarm. I have checked the schematics for our board and the SWO pin is being used for a serial EEPROM and is not connected to the SWD port.

I am feeling kind of disappointed about that! Next HW rev I will push to change things if possible.

Lawrence