Erasing first 2 K of my board

Discuss how to use the features of Atollic TrueSTUDIO, including the editor, assembler, C/C++ compiler, linker, debugger, static code analysis and team collaboration tools.

Moderators: Markus Girdland, Mattias Norlander

comarius
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 1:53 pm

Erasing first 2 K of my board

Postby comarius » Tue Sep 15, 2020 8:37 pm

Hi,
STM 452 LE 512 Kb RAM,

I have a boot-loader at 0x8000000 as big as ~20k.
The image is loaded at 0x8008000 which is 32 K from FLASH_BASE. The image is 239 K

Code: Select all

#define VECT_TAB_OFFSET  (32*1024) @ system_stm32l4xx.c
 SCB->VTOR = 32*1024;
 
// and linker file. Ignore the storage 32k at the end of flash.
/* Entry Point */
ENTRY(Reset_Handler)
...

STOR_LEN  = 32K;
BOOT_LEN  = 32K;
RAM_USER  = 8K   ;
FLASH_TOT    = 512K;
RAM_TOT    = 160K;
FLASH_BASE    = 0x8000000;
RAM_BASE    = 0x20000000;

MEMORY
{
FLASH (rx)      : ORIGIN  = FLASH_BASE + BOOT_LEN, LENGTH = FLASH_TOT - BOOT_LEN - STOR_LEN    /* mco */
RAM   (xrw)     : ORIGIN  = RAM_BASE,              LENGTH = RAM_TOT   - RAM_USER               
}


Everything works as expected, and worked for last month, I was debugging the image at 0x8008000 no problem.
The boot-loader was sitting at 0x8000000 unaltered.
Today out of the blue when I start the Atoollic debugger upon the image
I noticed that is erasing the first page (2K) of the FLASH. Just like that, wiping out a chunk the
boot loader code. This did not happen before. As soon The debugger breaks in main and I check
the 0x8000000 with the memory browser the page is FF up to 800hex.

I tried, reinstalling the shitty Atollic, Checking project settings everywhere, I cannot get a clue.

If both firmware's are flashed either trough the 'mbed' shared mount or using Stlink-V2, all is working great.
The only thing is that Atoolic debugger erases the bootloader first sector, and let;s me with a bricked board until next manual flash.



Thank you,

comarius
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 1:53 pm

Re: Erasing first 2 K of my board

Postby comarius » Sun Sep 20, 2020 3:27 am

I replaced the STM32CubeProgrammer which is using behind the scene, whatever, and the problem is gone.
With regret but all Eclispe based IDE;s are just a mess.


Return to “Atollic TrueSTUDIO tool discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests